The PLA Navy in 60 seconds: The Submarine Force

Chen Zhuo
2019-04-17 14:13:55


The Chinese People's Liberation Army Navy is celebrating its 70th anniversary on April 23 with a large maritime parade off the coast of Qingdao. But how much do you know about the PLA Navy?

The Chinese PLA Navy is composed of five branches: The Submarine Force, the Surface Force, the Coastal Defense Force, the Marine Corps and the Naval Air Force.

The Submarine Force was founded in 1954 and is one of the three main focuses of the navy, together with the Surface Force and the Naval Air Force. It consists of all submarines, both nuclear- and conventionally-powered, and its main responsibility is to strike major targets underwater, carry out antisubmarine warfare and scout in open water.


Related News